Pumpkin Cream Pie

13 Jan

I haven’t been in the kitchen lately, but I was lured in by another recipe swap hosted by A Taste of Home Cooking. The swap was a little bit different this time. We were all assigned a blog, and then we got to pick out any recipe to try for ourselves.

I was assigned The Imitation Chef, and I immediately found several recipes to bookmark. I picked out pumpkin cream pie, blueberry crumb cake, and mediterranean couscous. I decided to go with the pumpkin cream pie, as I had stocked up on canned pumpkin during Thanksgiving. I plan on trying the other recipes out in the future.

I lightened up this recipe quite a bit, and was pleased with the results. It was really easy to assemble, and I loved how creamy it was. The original recipe called for pumpkin pie spice, but I forgot to add it when I was making the pie. I thought it tasted good without it, but I might try adding it next time!

 

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Source: Adapted from Imitation Chef

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 cup light cool whip

2 small packages of sugar- free, fat-free vanilla pudding

1 1/2 cups skim milk

graham cracker crust

In a medium-sized bowl, combine the pumpkin puree, cool whip, dry pudding mixes, and milk. Beat on low for 2 minutes. Pour pumpkin cream pie filling into graham cracker crust. Refrigerate for 3 hours before serving.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Cream Pie”

  1. The Home Cook January 13, 2012 at 1:39 PM #

    This looks like a great pie for Thanksgiving! I’m glad you are doing the swaps so you can get into the kitchen a little bit. 🙂

  2. mom January 13, 2012 at 2:59 PM #

    Yum, where is mine?
    m

Leave a comment