Crispy Baked Egg Rolls

27 Jan

I made this recipe for the latest recipe swap hosted by A Taste of Home Cooking. This time the theme was healthy recipes, and I submitted a recipe for turkey cutlets with parmesan crust that I love.

We thought the baked egg rolls were pretty good! I was surprised at how crispy they became in the oven. My husband thought they were missing a little something, but I told him I forgot to buy sweet and sour sauce for dipping. He thought that would have made the difference. I loved just buying the bag of coleslaw mix, I thought that was genius. In the past, when I have helped my mom make her egg rolls we had to shred the cabbage and carrots ourselves. This is a great time-saver that I will be sure and pass on to her.

 

Crispy Baked Egg Rolls

Source: Prevention RD, originally from Branny Boils Over

 

1 lb. coleslaw mix with cabbage and carrots

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

pinch of ground ginger

1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce

12 egg roll wrappers

1 tablespoon flour + 1 1/2 tablespoons water

cooking spray

sweet and sour sauce for dipping

 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Spray baking sheet with cooking spray and set aside.

In a large skillet or wok, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add coleslaw mix and garlic. Saute 4-5 minutes until cabbage is soft, but not soggy. Add the ginger and soy sauce, stir.

In a small dish, combine flour and water to make a thin paste.

Spoon 3 tablespoons of cabbage mixture into the middle of each of the 12 egg roll wrappers. Working at a diagonal, use a finger to smear some of the paste on each of the 3 corners of the wrapper. Roll from the side not smeared, tucking in the sides, and seal each wrapper into a log. (If you need to, look at the photo directions on Prevention RD’s site, or on the back of the egg roll package). Place each egg roll on the baking sheet.

Bake egg rolls for 12-14 minutes or until beginning to brown. For added crispness, put the egg rolls under the broiler for 1-2 minutes, checking every 20-30 seconds. Remove and let cool for several moments. Serve with sweet and sour sauce.

Nutritional info per serving (2 egg rolls): 160 calories, 2.3 grams fat, 7 mg cholesterol, 390 mg sodium, 28.5 grams carbs, 2.3 grams fiber, 5.8 grams protein.

3 Responses to “Crispy Baked Egg Rolls”

  1. Nicole, RD January 27, 2012 at 9:39 AM #

    I think you’re right…I think they’re good on their own, but the sweet and sour is a must-have!

  2. The Home Cook January 27, 2012 at 10:33 AM #

    I’m glad you liked these, even if they were missing the sweet & sour sauce for dipping.

    Thanks for being part of the recipe swap!

  3. Sarah January 31, 2012 at 11:32 AM #

    What a fantastic idea using coleslaw mix! I always end up searching for specific bits and bobs when I make spring rolls. Thank you! Thank you!

Leave a comment