Frosted Marshmallow Brownies

15 Jun

I made these brownies at our Thanksgiving dinner and they were a hit. I didn’t have a single leftover! This was back before I had started my blog. I made them again last night for our barbecue, and decided to post them. They are so delicious and rich, you can only eat a small piece. They are best described as a layer of brownie, a layer of marshmallow, and a layer of fudge to top it off. This recipe is a real winner, I can’t wait to make it again!

 

Frosted Marshmallow Brownies  (source: Baking Blonde)

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons baking cocoa
  • 3-4 cups mini marshmallows (I used 4 cups)

Preheat oven to 350.
Lightly grease a 9×13 pan with PAM
In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla beat until fluffy.
In a small bowl combine flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa. Stir to combine. Add the flour mixture to creamed mixture. spread in greased 9×13 pan.
Bake for 17-20 minutes (I had to bake mine for about 25 minutes). Remove from oven and sprinkle with marshmallows, return to oven 2-3 minutes, or just until marshmallows are soft.
Remove from oven. Using a knife dipped in water spread the metled marshmallows evenly over bars.

 

Frosting:

  • 3/4 stick butter
  • 6 tablespoons Milk  (I used skim)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup mini marshmallows or 4-6 large marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup Chocolate chips (maybe up to 3/4 cup depending how chocolaty you want it, I used 3/4 cup)

Combine ingredients (except marshmallows and chocolate chips) in medium saucepan and melt over medium low heat. Stir constantly until combined. Bring to a boil and boil for 1 minute.
Add marshmallows and chocolate chips
Stir until marshmallows and chips are melted.
Remove from heat. Allow to cool and thicken slightly (can set in sink of cold water to speed up process). Pour and spread over marshmallows on bars.
Allow to cool before cutting and serving ( I put mine in the fridge to cool).

brwonies11

6 Responses to “Frosted Marshmallow Brownies”

  1. Laura June 15, 2009 at 12:42 PM #

    I made this recipe before, it really is delicious! : )

  2. donna June 23, 2009 at 11:49 PM #

    I have got to try this one. They look absolutely fabulous!! Nice photo too!

  3. Molly Jean June 24, 2009 at 9:13 AM #

    Add some graham cracker and you’ve got yourself a smore!

    Now come swing by my blog and pick up your award 🙂

  4. lola June 24, 2009 at 3:34 PM #

    that looks and sounds ridiculously delicious. definitely going on my “to bake” list! thanks for the recipe.

  5. Deborah June 25, 2009 at 9:21 AM #

    Oooh, marshmallow and brownies – what’s not to love??

  6. bakingblonde July 9, 2009 at 4:02 AM #

    Yours look so ooey gooey! Love the picture!

Leave a comment