Crockpot Chicken & Noodles

23 Nov

My aunt and I went to an antique store recently for their holiday open house. When we were checking out I noticed a holiday cookbook sitting at the register. It was a supplement to a local newspaper so I grabbed one before we left the store. There were tons of recipe in the booklet from local people. I spotted this one, and decided to give it a try. My grandmother used to make the best chicken and noodles, homemade of course. I thought I would try this cheater version, especially since it is prepared in the crockpot. I’m always on the lookout for good crockpot recipes. Working long hours as a nurse, it’s always nice to come home and have dinner prepared for you. This turned out really good, I will make it again.

Crockpot Chicken and Noodles

Source: Recipe states Kathleen Feather as the author

 

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used frozen)

2 cans cream of chicken soup

1 stick of butter (eeek! I used 1/2 a stick)

chicken broth (recipe didn’t state how many so I used 2 15 oz cans)

24 oz. frozen egg noodles (I used Reames)

Cook chicken, soup, butter, and broth in crockpot on low for 8 hours (I cooked it on low for 6 1/2 hours). Take chicken out and shred. Put chicken back in; add noodles and cook on low for 2 hours. Stir a few times while cooking. I served this over mashed potatoes, with a side of green beans.

96 Responses to “Crockpot Chicken & Noodles”

  1. Donna November 24, 2010 at 1:40 PM #

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. thecookingnurse November 24, 2010 at 1:52 PM #

    Thank you Donna, happy Thanksgiving to you!

  3. Aundrea November 2, 2012 at 8:55 AM #

    This looks so good! And easy too! I love homemade chicken noodle soup but my husband isn’t big on the whole boiled chicken thing. So I’m going to try it this way and add celery and carrots.

    • Aundrea November 2, 2012 at 8:56 AM #

      I found this on Pintrest by the way

  4. Lori November 3, 2012 at 8:41 AM #

    Thank you for posting this recipe. I made it for my bunco group a couple of weeks ago and it was a big hit. Such a hit, that I am making it for my family for dinner tonight. Great post!

  5. Megan December 2, 2012 at 9:24 AM #

    How many servings is this for and what is the serving size?

  6. Staci January 9, 2013 at 9:01 AM #

    Are these the large or small cans of cream of chicken soup?

  7. amy January 10, 2013 at 11:40 PM #

    I don’t use the butter and they are great.

  8. Becky January 11, 2013 at 8:30 AM #

    Did you put the noodles in the crock pot frozen?

  9. Carol Belles January 17, 2013 at 3:44 PM #

    This was great – chicken and dumplings without all the work! I used dry noodles – the thick Amish ones. They worked like a charm. We love dumplings but I never get them as good as my mom’s so don’t make them.

  10. betsy February 7, 2013 at 9:26 AM #

    I couldn’t find the frozen noodles. Is there any way to use regular egg noodles?

    • thecookingnurse March 6, 2013 at 6:59 PM #

      I’m not sure how that would taste, the reames noodles are the only ones I have ever tried. They taste just like homemade noodles to me 🙂

    • Ginger August 9, 2013 at 7:45 PM #

      I don’t know where you live but in AZ, I found them at Basha’s, Walmart and Fry’s all by frozen garlic bread…small bags and hard to find since they don’t have a ton stocked like other things. The bag is a yellowish color with blue on the sides of it. Good luck!

      • Janis August 17, 2013 at 10:19 AM #

        I just checked at WalMart.com. They said they were in stock and included a number I could give an associate to help find them. I would imagine the number would be the same at any WalMart, but you could also just click on the “find in another store” link, to see if they are in stock locally for you. Here’s the URL: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Reames-Home-Style-Egg-Noodles-24-oz/10804944

  11. Beth February 12, 2013 at 2:23 PM #

    Mine is in the crock pot now, it looks very soupy, yours looks creamy n thick. I am thinking 2 cans of broth was too much??

    • thecookingnurse March 6, 2013 at 6:58 PM #

      Make sure and cook for 2 more hours once adding noodles!

  12. Sue February 17, 2013 at 8:58 AM #

    Hi, just wondering if the chicken breasts were frozen when put in crock pot or if you thawed them first & did you leave the noodles frozen? Thanks,Sue

    • thecookingnurse March 6, 2013 at 6:57 PM #

      Yes, the chicken was frozen. I put the noodles in frozen too.

  13. Crystal February 19, 2013 at 9:46 AM #

    How many did this serve? Sounds amazing!:)

  14. chasity February 20, 2013 at 7:03 PM #

    Did you put the chicken in frozen or thaw first

  15. Lori ann's food & fam March 3, 2013 at 6:45 PM #

    So simple. Can’t wait to try this tomorrow for dinner. Pinned!

  16. Joan March 24, 2013 at 5:25 PM #

    I’m confused how it can be Amish and Crockpot if the Amish don’t use electricity?

    • thecookingnurse March 26, 2013 at 9:21 AM #

      Where does it say that it’s Amish?

      • Christine April 15, 2013 at 3:19 PM #

        It says Amish in the name of the recipe!

      • thecookingnurse May 28, 2013 at 4:35 PM #

        I think you are smoking crack, no it doesn’t.

      • Crystal Z October 21, 2013 at 2:31 PM #

        Somebody added “Amish” to the title when they pinned it.

  17. bridget schram April 19, 2013 at 3:07 PM #

    Mine is really soupy will it thicken up? If it doesn’t is there a way to thicken it up?

  18. Brook April 21, 2013 at 4:14 PM #

    This recipe is yummy! My husband and I had a few friends over for lunch and had it with mashed potatoes, corn and homemade angel biscuits. Everyone really liked it! I modified the recipe a little by using a rotisserie chicken. I deboned the chicken and placed the chicken pieces, soup, 1/2 stick butter, and broth in crock pot on high for approx. 45mins. Then added the frozen noodles. Cooked in low for 3-3.5 hours. They were deeelicious! 🙂

  19. Jess April 22, 2013 at 4:46 PM #

    Made this for dinner tonight! Absolutely amazing! I will be making this again

  20. Janie June 7, 2013 at 11:49 AM #

    Looking at a pin on Pinterest, IT DOES say Amish and brings you directly to this site. You owe Christine an apology and saying someone is on crack because You don’t know what they are talking about is unacceptable.

    • thecookingnurse June 16, 2013 at 1:07 PM #

      I don’t have anything to do with pinterest….and no I don’t owe her a apology. If you don’t like it, don’t read the blog.

      • Marilyn May 14, 2014 at 12:04 PM #

        Don’t apologize. That was the best laugh I’ve had all day!!

      • thecookingnurse May 14, 2014 at 8:05 PM #

        Thanks 🙂

    • Are you high? July 8, 2013 at 3:36 PM #

      Ok, you apparently are unfamiliar with Pinterest. When you make a pin, you name that pin whatever you want. I could name it dog poo stew and that would have absolutely nothing to do with either the owner of this blog, the recipe (which is very good, by the way) or really anything else at all. If you want to be bossy and rude to someone then track down the person who pinned this under the name Amish whatever. Seriously people.

      • thecookingnurse July 11, 2013 at 4:28 PM #

        I use Pinterest all the time actually. I get really tired of answering stupid comments. Obviously when you click on the link that takes you to this recipe you can see that it says nothing about Amish….

    • stephanie September 9, 2013 at 9:04 AM #

      When you pin a recipe you can write anything you want on the pin. The creator of this blog can not possibly control or know whats written.., unwad your panties.

  21. Phyllis June 16, 2013 at 11:47 AM #

    Since chicken breasts vary in size what was the total weight of the chicken before cooking? I weighed the four frozen chicken breasts I have and they have a combined weight of 2 pounds. I hope that isn’t too much. Guess I’ll find out they’re cooking in my crock pot right now!

  22. Cheri July 9, 2013 at 2:07 PM #

    Currently cooking this in the crockpot, looking very forward to it. Thanks for the recipe and additional directions in the comments!

  23. meredith August 21, 2013 at 12:34 PM #

    I’m going to try this today! Thanks for the easy and yummy looking recipe that ISN’T amish! LOLOLOL

    • thecookingnurse August 21, 2013 at 1:31 PM #

      Glad you have a sense of humor 🙂 Hope you enjoy it!

      • meredith August 21, 2013 at 4:09 PM #

        I’m also a nurse, I have to have a sense of humor to survive!

      • thecookingnurse August 21, 2013 at 4:27 PM #

        So true!

  24. MelissaH August 26, 2013 at 8:26 PM #

    I want to try this recipe, but the Reames frozen noodles I found (Kroger) came in both pre-cooked and uncooked varieties. I bought them both because I wasn’t sure which one to use. Any thoughts?

    • thecookingnurse August 27, 2013 at 4:14 PM #

      Honestly not sure……I get mine at Walmart and there is only one package. I can’t remember if it said they were cooked or not. You could probably use either. You might have to leave the uncooked ones in the crockpot longer. Let me know how it turns out.

      • joni September 4, 2013 at 5:09 AM #

        Use the Amish noodles!! hahahhahhha, so kiiidddiiinngg…I found this recipe TASTY as well as entertaining! Thanks, AmishNurse! 😉

  25. Anne September 14, 2013 at 10:31 AM #

    This looks like a great/easy recipe. One question for you…do I change the cooking time if I don’t use frozen chicken? But, I will be using the frozen noodles. New to the world of crockpot cooking. Thanks for the recipe and advice 🙂

    • thecookingnurse September 14, 2013 at 10:38 AM #

      I would cook the chicken breasts for less time if they are not frozen. Maybe check at 4 hours or so? My crockpot tends to run on the hotter side, even on the low setting. Good luck!

  26. Kelly Steele September 25, 2013 at 9:41 PM #

    can you make this with a whole chicken?

    • thecookingnurse September 26, 2013 at 10:24 AM #

      I have never tried that. I think I would cook the whole chicken first and shred. Then, you could use in recipe. I just wouldn’t cook as long because the chicken would already be cooked. I think if you subbed in a whole chicken in the original recipe it would be difficult to get all the bones/fat etc. out after cooking.

  27. McKensie Morgan October 6, 2013 at 2:56 PM #

    The Amish reference is understandable …..pinterest or no pinterest…but ssaying someone is smoking crack is downright rude. Sure hope you’re never my nurse ! You owe her an apology..

    • thecookingnurse October 6, 2013 at 3:17 PM #

      I was just tired of dealing with stupid comments.

    • Taffy October 7, 2013 at 10:07 AM #

      McKensie, go play hall monitor somewhere else…oh like..on your own blog. This is a place to share recipes, (damn good ones) not ask stupid questions like..”Like how can it be Amish if like…the Amish, like don’t have electricity?”
      Uh..if you think its Amish & therefore (according to you) needs to be made on a wood stove…WHY are you clicking on it??

      As for you…butt the hell out.

  28. Aaron Shaw October 18, 2013 at 4:29 PM #

    What would be the times if I cooked this on high? lol Don’t have time to let it cook all day.

    • thecookingnurse October 21, 2013 at 10:39 AM #

      I have never tried it on high. I would try cutting the time in half and see if that works.

  29. Aaron T. November 12, 2013 at 1:41 PM #

    Has anyone ever used regular egg noodles? I have a bunch of noodles I’d like to use up.

    • thecookingnurse November 12, 2013 at 4:45 PM #

      I haven’t, but I highly recommend the frozen noodles. They are much thicker, and taste better in my opinion.

  30. Emcooking November 27, 2013 at 10:44 AM #

    I love this recipe, this will be the third time I’ve used it! Don’t need to change a thing! This is thecookingnurse’s blog I don’t think she needs to apologize to anyone! I doubt she meant as literal as you all were taking it either. Clearly the bottom line is..these noodles are delish!

  31. Anatha November 30, 2013 at 9:21 AM #

    This looks so yummy. I am making it today for an “after thanksgiving” gathering. I can’t wait to try it!!!

  32. Katie December 8, 2013 at 10:40 AM #

    Making this tonight’ can’t wait to try it!

  33. Danielle December 22, 2013 at 10:29 PM #

    if I want to make it without the chicken do I just bypass the 8 hour step and skip straight to the noodles to the broth?

    • thecookingnurse December 23, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

      I think that would be fine. I would just combine the cream of chicken soup, broth, and butter (heat up) and then add the noodles.

  34. Cheryl January 26, 2014 at 9:07 AM #

    Cold and very snowy day in Ohio. This nurse has your recipe in the crockpot now! Waited too long to start so I am going to cook for a little on high or else we won’t be eating until tonight. Thanks for the easy recipe!

  35. Kristab January 27, 2014 at 8:29 PM #

    Cheryl how’d it turn out? I am also suffering cold Ohio nights (as you just posted yesterday). This is on my menu for tomorrow

  36. jenny January 29, 2014 at 9:15 AM #

    i am also a nurse..i am going to try this, looks great. as far as the smoking crack comment i laughed so hard!!! we where on the site because of the recipe not whether the Amish use electricity or not..some ppl just have to be smart asses..As a nurse i found your come back so darn funny had to read it to my husband

  37. Lisa February 17, 2014 at 4:43 PM #

    Can you leave out the cream of chicken soup?

    • thecookingnurse February 18, 2014 at 12:00 PM #

      I don’t think it would be as creamy or have as much flavor if you did. If you don’t like using canned soups, I have seen substitute cream soups on the internet.

  38. Sara January 28, 2015 at 12:07 PM #

    I’m making this now, and am cutting it in half as it’s just me and felt the whole,thing would create too many left overs. Using chicken breast tenderloins as well. Cooking them thawed on high, and have seen comments other places that the noodles are done as early as 45 minutes, so I’ll check then! Anxious to taste it!

  39. Patricia Heaton April 24, 2015 at 2:47 PM #

    Excellent. Tastes better the second day!!! And Canadian Nurses have your back…..She was on crack!! Please people… Why all the drama over a chicken???? Chill out…..Eh

  40. Danielle September 15, 2015 at 7:23 PM #

    Put this meal in crockpot before work (I’m a nurse also 😉 and it was very good! I didn’t add any butter, but other than that followed recipe exactly. Was wondering if leftovers are ok to freeze?

    • thecookingnurse September 15, 2015 at 10:43 PM #

      I have frozen the leftovers with good results. I did have to add a little chicken broth to it.

      • Danielle September 16, 2015 at 11:04 AM #

        Ok thanks!! I appreciate the recipe, take care

  41. Sandie Zeiner November 4, 2015 at 7:09 PM #

    This sounds delicious and can’t wait to try it.. thank you so much for posting it.

  42. Alicia February 5, 2016 at 12:55 PM #

    I have tried this previously and my family LOVED IT. I also added a 16oz bag each of frozen peas and frozen carrots. My crockpot is huge so I almost doubled the amount of chicken with a mix of breasts and thighs. It was completely full, but not ‘sloshy’ so it traveled well…there were NO LEFTOVERS!!! Thanks so much for this recipe!

    • thecookingnurse February 5, 2016 at 9:48 PM #

      Glad you liked it! I love that you added peas and carrots, sounds delicious.

  43. Stephanie May 15, 2016 at 8:00 AM #

    Did not have the frozen egg noodles at my store- but found the dry ones in the pasta section- any tips for adjusting cook time and/or liquid?

    • thecookingnurse May 16, 2016 at 12:33 AM #

      I’m really not sure, since I have never used them. I would think you might need more liquid! Good luck 😀

    • Paige November 11, 2016 at 2:34 AM #

      Stephanie-I know it was a few months ago that you commented but did it work? I’m in the same predicament…my store didn’t have the frozen noodles so I bought the dry.

  44. Mark June 28, 2016 at 9:37 AM #

    cant find frozen noodles, will bag noodles work?

    • thecookingnurse June 28, 2016 at 9:46 PM #

      I have never tried them, so not sure! It would be worth a try.

  45. hls August 28, 2016 at 12:30 PM #

    I make this from time to time. I am making it now and forgot the soup lol . Last time I somehow ruined it. Hour in on the noodles it was over cooked and gummy. So I suggest check it every 30 minutes. I know mt crock eventually comes to a low boil on high setting so it may be safe to do that and cook the noodles 20-30 minutes

  46. Jane May 20, 2018 at 4:37 PM #

    I am giving this a shot in the oven. I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

Leave a comment