Cherry Cream Cheese Pie

17 Jan

I saved this recipe a while back when I saw it on Southern Plate. I thought it looked like an easy and yummy dessert to throw together on short notice. We had some family over for dinner last night so I thought it was the perfect time to try it out. My 3 year old nephew was so cute when he saw the pie sitting on the countertop. He wanted a piece so bad, before dinner! We convinced him to finish dinner so he could try a piece. I served him a pretty generous piece and he ate every last bite. I thought the cream cheese complimented the cherries well. I was a little nervous about adding 1/3 cup of lemon juice to the pie, but it turned out perfect. I used a low fat graham cracker crust, low fat cream cheese, and light cherry pie filling and it turned out well.

Cherry Cream Cheese Pie

Source: Southern Plate

 

8 oz. cream cheese, softened to room temperature

14 oz can sweetened condensed milk

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

graham cracker crust

1 can of pie filling (your choice of flavor)

In a mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, condensed milk, lemon juice, and vanilla. Mix until creamy and smooth. Spread into pie crust and cover. Refrigerate several hours (I also placed my can of filling in the fridge at this time with the pie). Top with pie filling and place back into the refrigerator until completely chilled. Serve cold.

Leave a comment